LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

help with creating bridge scale

Could someone please explain how to create a bridge scale for the attached pressure transducer specifications? This is the 0-100psi model. Sensor has 225mV full scale output at 10.0Vdc and notes that the minimum is 140mV. I'm a little confused by the mV/V units that LabVIEW is asking for, rather than just mV. Are these the correct values to use? When I enter them my slope preview does not show any line as the electical units displayed only go from -1 to 1.   

First electrical value = 140mV/V

First physical value = 0 psi

Second electrical value = 225mV/V

Second electrical value = 100 psi

Thanks for any help, I am new to all of this

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,046 Views)

The sensor output bridge voltage 'lineary'* depends on the bridge supply voltage. So the output is defined by mV(output voltage) / V (per supply voltage).

*) Piezoresistive sensors are 'not so linear', say only at the supply voltage specified. That's why the sensitivity of piezoresistive sensors is often not specified by mV/V , instead the supply is assumed to be fixed (10V here) and declaired sensitivity is in mV.

The spec tells that the zero offset should be in the +- 20mV range. Yours is 140mV, why ??

Overloaded in the past??

Did you used a torque-wrench to apply a mounting torque of 1.7 Nm (+-.6)!! ??

How does the offset look like with an unmounted sensor??

However according to the spec I assume you should enter

First electrical value = <your offset voltage>/<supply voltage>   (14.0mV/V)

Second electrical value = <your offset voltage +225mV/10V>   (36.5mV/V)

Second electrical value = 100 psi

BUT usually you get a calibration sheet with that sensor. THESE values are the ones you should use.

In case you have to apply more than 1.7Nm torque , you would need a dedicated calibration for the torque applied!

Well, at least if you want to do serious measurements 😄