From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

generating clock using mydaq

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone!

I just would like to ask a very BASIC question. I know some of you may find this easy.

Again, I am new in LabVIEW and I'm trying to use NI myDAQ as a data acquisition device. In the application I am trying to do, I need to get a pulse generating signal from myDAQ and use it as input to my multiplexer. I've been searching for the posts and i think none were asking this kind of simple question.

If there is any solution for this, please link it to me. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Regards,

Falsehope

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,430 Views)
How many digital lines does your mux require? I believe the myDAQ uses software timed digital I/O so you just write the pattern one by one.

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/11508/en/

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/11422/en/

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,420 Views)

well sir, the multiplexer just need a Continous ON-OFF pulse so that it will switch from time to time depending on the frequency I will use.

So basically, I only need a basic clock output (about100kHz or lesser) from the myDAQ and the ON-OFF pulses will trigger the multiplexing capability of my device.

I need it to run in labview also. In such a way that the myDAQ is producing clock for the hardware and clock for the labVIEW.

But for now, my main concern is how do i prompt the myDAQ to produce clock pulses using LabVIEW softeare.

Thank you so much sir

Falsehope

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,405 Views)

The myDAQ has a single counter on it.  You can configure the counter to output a frequency.  According to the specification, the Frequency Output will come out of DIO 4.

GCentral