cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

generating clock using mydaq

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone!

I just would like to ask a very BASIC question. I know some of you may find this easy.

Again, I am new in LabVIEW and I'm trying to use NI myDAQ as a data acquisition device. In the application I am trying to do, I need to get a pulse generating signal from myDAQ and use it as input to my multiplexer. I've been searching for the posts and i think none were asking this kind of simple question.

If there is any solution for this, please link it to me. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Regards,

Falsehope

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,448 Views)
How many digital lines does your mux require? I believe the myDAQ uses software timed digital I/O so you just write the pattern one by one.

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/11508/en/

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/11422/en/

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,438 Views)

well sir, the multiplexer just need a Continous ON-OFF pulse so that it will switch from time to time depending on the frequency I will use.

So basically, I only need a basic clock output (about100kHz or lesser) from the myDAQ and the ON-OFF pulses will trigger the multiplexing capability of my device.

I need it to run in labview also. In such a way that the myDAQ is producing clock for the hardware and clock for the labVIEW.

But for now, my main concern is how do i prompt the myDAQ to produce clock pulses using LabVIEW softeare.

Thank you so much sir

Falsehope

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,423 Views)

The myDAQ has a single counter on it.  You can configure the counter to output a frequency.  According to the specification, the Frequency Output will come out of DIO 4.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(5,372 Views)