LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

generate random number between -10 and 110

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, Im trying to generate a random number between -10 and 110.  This is what i have so far. I'm still new to labview so i don't really know what to do. Any help would be great!!!

Screen Shot 2017-04-09 at 17.54.27.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(9,497 Views)

Hello, Im trying to generate a random number between -10 and 110.  This is what i have so far. I'm still new to labview so i don't really know what to do. Any help would be great!!!

Screen Shot 2017-04-09 at 17.54.27.png

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(9,493 Views)

You need a number between -10 and 110, that is a range of 120 not 100, and you will also need to offset that by -10 otherwise you will get values between 0  and 120.

You only need to change one constant and add a subtraction to you vi to complete it. You can also remove the coerce, if you set up properly it should never be outside of range.

[EDIT] Variables != Constant.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(9,495 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Kmfood123

Let's take a look at what your VI currently does.

It starts by finding a random number between 0.000 and 1.000.  It multiplies that result by 100.  At this point, you have a number between 0.000 and 100.000.  You check to see if this value is in the range of -10 to 110.  It always is so the value is output along with a true.

After a second completes, the loop reads the true and stops to output both the true as well as the value between 0 and 100.

There's quite a few things strange with this.

1) It will always be in range.  The check doesn't provide any value.