From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fpga - NI 9215 C Series

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm a Mechanical Engineer new to LabVIEW Real-Time and FPGA. I have been trying to connect an accelerometer sensor to the NI 9215 'C' Series Module in the cRIO 9024 controller chassis but experiencing a hard time in finding the right connections especially with the "GROUND". I would very much appreciate any effort in giving me more insight on the problem that I'm experiencing and help me acquire a voltage signal. I went through various white papers but none of them explained in detail.

Certified LabVIEW Associate Developer
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,147 Views)

Hi Karthik,

which "GROUND" are you talking about?

The sensor gives you a voltage signal: it usually provided by two wires. You have to connect those two wires to the contacts of one input channel!

The module comes in two versions: BNC or springclamp. Each version has two contacts per channel as written on the body on the module - and in it's manual...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,119 Views)

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate your effort in helping me out. I'm using the NI 9215 with screw terminal which has 4 AI+ and 4 AI- and NC and COM terminals. Consider for example connecting a potentiometer which has 3 wires. How do you propose me to connect it to the NI 9215 with screw terminal in order to acquire a voltage signal? I can wirte a LabVIEW VI that acquires voltage. But, I'm stuck with the hardware connection. I went through RSE, NRSE and other pages, but couldn't get the clear picture on connecting the ground/"COM" terminal according to the terminology.