LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

error 6 in write to spreadsheet file

Hello.  My program reads a 1D array of 12 values, then increments each value as the controlled components activate.  The program then writes the new value back to the file, replacing the old value.  After running for a time, I get the following error message:

Error 6 occurred at Open/Create/Replace File In Write Spreadsheet STring.vi->Write To Spreadsheet File (DBL).vi->(name of my vi.)

I read some posts which said that this could be a problem of the file getting too large.  Since I am writing over the same values, how can this happen?

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what can be done to prevent this error?  If the file is getting too large, how can I prevent this from happening? 

This is my first time posting.  Is there a better way to attach a pic of a vi/block diagram than what I have done?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,043 Views)

For future reference, it is best if you just post the VI itself.  It will make it easier on us to help.

Does the file increasing in size?  You can simply look at the file in Windows Explorer to find that out.  It also bothers me that you are rewriting the file so often.  Why not only write the file once the loop is complete?

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,034 Views)

What makes you think you are writing over the file. You have the Write to Spreadsheet File set to append. Did you look at the file you created? Change it to false and you will get a new file each time.

Yes, there are many better ways to attach your code. First, attach the actual VI or a snippet (look it up in the Help). The code or a snippet can be run. Second, attach a simple jpg or png.