LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dynamic arrays

Hi all,

I am controlling a two level stepper motor via  a USB 6009. I created the pulses using software timing by setting an array of elements to change between 0 and 5 V continuously as shown in the attachement. The probelm now is that i want to be able to control the number of degrees that the motor moves by so say 1 degree = 35 elements in the array. How do I do that using dynamic arrays? i'd like to be able to specify the number of degrees and hence the number of elements in the array of values 0 and 5. I am completely new to labView so any ideas or examples will be great.

Thank you

Myriam
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,394 Views)
First, a few suggestions to improve your code:
  • Instead of the case structure use the "Select" function (it's in the "Boolean" palette). All you're doing is selecting one task or another based on a Boolean. In this case the "Select" function is better.
  • Just out of curiosity, how did you create that array constant on the block diagram? Please don't tell me you did it by hand, since it's 1500 elements. Use the built-in signal generation functions. There are numerous functions that work well with DAQ.
  • Don't expect the software timing to work the way you want to. That is non-deterministic, as software timing in the 1 millisecond range is not realistic.
As for your specific question, it sounds like you just want to chop off the array you generate that's the entire signal. For this you just need the "Split Array" function. You feed it the index where you want the split to occur and you get the separate arrays.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,368 Views)