cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dll pointer memory allocation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am very new to LabVIEW and I have been struggling with this third party provided dll for a quite long time. I am able to configure the device (though with error code showing insufficient resource), get number of sensors connected, and the sensor ID. But I can't receive any data from the device and I am thinking it might be memory allocation problem. 

I am using LabVIEW 2015 32bit on Windows 10. 

This is the documentation provided by the vendor, and the apdm_ctx_t seems to be a void pointer based on the API (typedef void apdm_ctx_t)

APDM_EXPORT apdm_ctx_t apdm_ctx_allocate_new_context (void )
             Allocates memory a handle to be used by the apdm libraries.
             Returns
Non-zero on success, zero otherwise

Based on some previous post, I configure the return of the above function to be signed pointer size integer. And the following functions will receive this context as numeric and pass by value.

In the attached png, the apdm_get_next_record requires a complicated struct. I make it as a cluster and feed into the function node (see fig). 

The sequence of the vi follows the Matlab code provided by the vendor. I have no idea why the vi keeps returning error code: no data received....

Any thoughts would be great and I can provide more info if needed. Thanks!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,956 Views)

While LabVIEW is indeed a graphical programming language, a picture of the diagram only can tell us so much. With the Call Library Node most of the really interesting things are in the Configuration Dialog not in the LabVIEW diagram. That part is totally lost in a diagram screenshot.