From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

daq assistant precision issue

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

I am new to LabVIEW so this could very easily just be a simple problem. I apologize that the VI is a bit cluttered... The purpose of the program is to measure the voltage accross batteries in a circuit when a 5v pulse is provided. It does this and gives me almost the results I need, but all of the timing is a bit off. For instance, the graph connected to the data shows that the pulse starts around 100 ms, when I specified for 150ms... And even that moves around a little bit with each run. Usually not more that +/-5ms, but I feel that the equipment is definitely more precise than that. I have also noticed that it won't produce the pulse for 16ms as I requested. The shortest it seems to get is about 23ms, and again this moves around a bit with each run. The big thing here is that it isn't precise like I know it should be. I have looked into using the daqmx instead of the daq assistant, but it didn't seem to really make a difference. What could I be doing wrong or overlooking? I am using the NI 9264 to produce the signal and the 9205 to read it. Thanks in advance for the help!

Many thanks,

Bradley

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,864 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author riemer.j

Your problem is that you are relying on Windows timing.  This is NEVER accurate.  How accurate do you need the timing to be?  You should setup the Analog Output task to be multiple points and supply a waveform for it to output instead of just setting it randomly in software.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines