LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

class dynamic dispatch - allow only children, not nephews

I am relatively new to LVOOP. I have a family of 3 generations of classes that inherit from grandparent to parent to child. My application has 1 grandparent, 2 parents, and each parent has 3 children.

Each of the parents is handled in it's own loop. I want the dynamic dispatch (DD) VI to be only able to execute the children or the parent. If the parent sibling or his children (nephews) are called, I want to generate an error (compile-time preferred, but runtime if necessary). In my application, the attempt to process a parent sibling or nephew is (technically) possible, but always a bug in my design pattern.

Are there any native tools in LV to restrict DD handling?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,399 Views)

Below is a diagram of what I mean.

2013 LV Classes diagram.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,394 Views)

Then you need to define the DD VI in Parent 1 and Parent 2 VIs, not in Grandparent.

Yeah, there'll be code duplication but otherwise you won't get what you're looking for.

Shane.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,385 Views)

I have an instance of the DD defined at the grandparent level. All it does is generate an error with specific info about which class was incorrectly used.

Are you suggesting that if I remove the DD subVI at the grandparent level (and keep 1 for each parent), my goal will be accomplished?

There is another facet of my application that may be important. I am using these classes for messaging among various queue-driven state machines. Thus, I don't want one QDSM to attempt to implement a message designed for a different QDSM (and likely attached to different hardware).

The grandparent generation is part of a common-use library that is shared among many applications, so it must be generic. The parent and child generations are application-specific.