From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

calling a Vision Acquisition Express VI in a Loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there. I've been working on a personal project for a while now, and I've seem to come to a brick wall. I'm relatively new to IMAQ, but I feel I understand some of it.

Let's call our test user Bob.

Bob needs to be able to see what the camera sees, and when the camera is focused on a barcode, Bob has to hit a "Capture" button, which will take the last acquired image from the continuous acquisition, and use that image for barcode reading and later, parsing the data.

Bob runs into a problem though. His Block Diagram is set up in two different ways, both yielding the same result. (see the attached photos). this is inside a Sequence structure, which in turn is inside of a while loop, which can be exited at any time. To prevent automatic cycling in the big while loop, the first frame of the aforementioned sequence is an event structure which allows the process to continue when a "New Capture" button is pressed. What happens? The first time through the sequence, Bob gets successful results. However, after the execution of the entire while loop, the camera image, which should be displayed in sync with what the camera sees until the "Capture" button is pressed, is just a white background.

What could be causing the express VI to not be called the second time through the loop and beyond?

Thanks in advance.

(EDIT 1: added front panel image after the problem has occured)

"Whether you think you can or can't, you're right."
~Henry Ford
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,221 Views)