cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cRIO with UI interface structure

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi guys,

I am new to Labview and about to start my first cRIO VI. My question is a bit general so I will try to make it as clear as possible.

My project will include a user interface screen where user initially sets some parameters which are passed to RIO via a central UI cluster. This cluster includes both controls and indicators (all sensors/controllers passing through RIO) which need to be changed/updated real time. 

Looking at the cRIO examples found in the developer's guide, it seems that all VIs are loaded from within the cRIO folder present in a project. Is this the standard practice? Should I also run my UI screen vi from cRIO. Wouldn't it be better if I run it locally (i.e. inside host folder in project) and call all the RIO sub-VIs from within it? Also, what about the type definition controllers? Shouldn't this also be placed in the local host folder? My problem is that running the main UI vi directly from RIO has some limitations (e.g. cannot use invoke nodes to open/close certain VIs and cannot use sub-panels).

Thanks for your time,

Harry

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,902 Views)

You are on the right track. The user interface is supposed to be on the host machine. The cRIO has a real time operating system and as such, shouldn't have a UI on it, which means that it's front panel isn't supposed to be used for UI. Your host VI should communicate all information to the cRIO code through communication protocols like TCP/IP or Shared Variables.

So, build a VI that does UI on the host machine. Create shared variables on the host machine as well. Transfer all data on the host front panel through shared variables to the Real Time VI. And, let the real time VI take care of acquisition, control, processing etc. Hope that makes sense. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Real-Time VI to Host VI Communication Methods