LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

build array out of memory

Need help im new to labview im posting very simplified example of code over a few hours im getting out of memory error normaly this would be sensor data being colected every 2-4 sec and writen to a csv file. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 28
(4,212 Views)

There is nothing that should run out of memory. Does the problem really occur with the "simplified" example you have attached?

What makes you think it runs out of memory at the "build array"?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 28
(4,206 Views)

yes it happens with example will happen within a few min if you speed up loop

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 28
(4,204 Views)

If you dramatically speed up the loop (e.g. remove all waits), you will obviously run out of memory in the queue because you generate numbers much faster than they can be written to disk. You need to ensure that the generation rate is less than the average maintainable speed of the disk IO.

Using write to spreadsheet file is also a low performance option, because of the constant file open/close operations and all the formatting steps. If speed matters, use a binary file and low level file IO. Open it once before the loop, and just append inside the loop. Close it when the loop ends.

Maybe you should set an upper size limit for the queue?

I don't have the ogtk subVI, but here's how your code could be simplified (not showing the file IO suggestions). The browse option for the file controls also should be "new or existing".

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 28
(4,198 Views)

is using build array in a loop a bad idea does it cause memory leaks

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 28
(4,189 Views)

@brian19876 wrote:

is using build array in a loop a bad idea does it cause memory leaks

That depends.

Your array is fixed size and there is absolutely no problem. It is allocated at compile time and never changes.