LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

best way to control a large num of controls and indicators

Solved!
Go to solution

Im building a front panel with 46 controls and indicators, all boolean type.

the logic is control > send serial command > receive > set indicator. i attach part of my front panel (with 2 sets of control and indicator) and my block diagram. 

i need to be able to control programmatically and from the front panel the control status and the indicators, individually or all by once (e.g. to reset them at once). this should be achieved from the tab they are in, and from another one.

thought of property nodes but still i would have 46+46 of them. same for local variables.

is there i way to refer to a control/indicator by its label(string) and change its value?

would it be easier to create two boolean arrays that hold their boolean value?

please advise me about the options i have. i'm new to labview.

thanks in advance.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,898 Views)

The idea of interacting with 46 Boolean Controls or Indicators is a little frightening!  Can you possibly think about the design (from the standpoint of User Interaction) and make it simpler?

Multiple Boolean Indicators can often be represented by a Boolean Array.  There's an issue of labelling them, but you can do that with decorations.  For example, here is a TypeDef of a Cluster showing the outputs of a set of Digital I/O registers, a 16-bit register on top, and selected bits of 4 8-bit registers below.  As you can see, the Cluster is made up of 5 Arrays of Boolean, sized appropriately with Cluster names and (in the case of the top one) a Decoration serving as identifiers.

DIO Lights.png

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,880 Views)

@afetsis wrote:

is there i way to refer to a control/indicator by its label(string) and change its value?

Yes, there are 2 methods:

1) Use the Ctrl Val.Set method