LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

asynchronous call vi path

Solved!
Go to solution

I am trying to implement a splash screen that calls my main VI asynchronously and displays messages while the VI loads.  It all works properly in development system but it's not the case as an EXE.  This is my first attempt at calling a VI like this so i am sure that i am missing something simple. 

See the attached image.  The static reference points to a location on my server but I want to run the VI that is "Always Included" in my EXE build, not the VI from the server.  The VI Path returned here is a combination of the server path and the build location which is obviously not correct. 

What's really strange to me is that the main.vi does actually run, even though the path is wrong.  The splash screen shows messages received from main but when it gets to the loading config settings, it fails because the vi path is c:\program files\tester\main.exe\z\labview\tester and it can't find my INI file.  How do i load this VI dynamically and still be able to pass my notification refnum into it for my splash screen and return the proper VI path?  I tried removing the path property node below and just adding a path constant with main.vi as the value.  But it seems to be getting the path from the strict type reference (which i understand is for type only). 

Capture.PNG

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(5,183 Views)

And that is not what you want to do!  You seem to be running Main.vi from the server not the exe.

"For Type Only" means just that-  the filename property should not be queried.  use the application property app.kind to switch between a path to the server or use a relative path to This.VI. 

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(5,176 Views)