LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

adodb._connection

Not sure where to post this. Hopefully someone can help.

I have a series of vis that use the ADODB._connection invoke nodes. These use activex to communicate with data sources on the computer. These work most of the time. I have been using these for 10 years. But recently the programs have started randomly hanging. I tracked the problem down to the ADODB._connection invoke nodes. They just sometimes hang for some seconds then start working again. They don't pass an error and they don't do it every time. Just randomly sometimes the programs will hang on the adodb._connection for 10-20 seconds then start working again.

It is very strange. I don't know how to trouble shoot this since it gives no error and doesn't occur consistently. We were using the LabSQL package. This is not an official labview package and was written for an older version of labview. I thought perhaps some update made it incompatible so we remade our vis with the labview connectivity package. These actually use the same adodb._connection invoke nodes at the heart of the program and the new programs do the same thing. We thought maybe it was a windows problem and reinstalled windows but the problem is still occuring. 

Has anyone had this? I am at a loss about what to do next. We are considering maybe it is a hardware problem and checking our ram. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(6,304 Views)

I have been using these calls for many years and have never seen this problem, which makes me wonder if it's a connectivity issue. What DBMS are you accessing? what does your connection string look like?

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(6,276 Views)