LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

add indicator from sub vi to main vi

Hello I am new to labview. My subvi has a progress bar (Indicator) and i want it to be also displayed in my Main VI. Is there any process to do this. 

I am very new to lab view so step by step procedures are appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,470 Views)

Promice,

I have put together an example for you.  Control references work well in this situation, but there are many ways of communicating between running VI's, dont misuse control references by passing large ammounts of data.  This is what Queues, Notifiers, User Events andDVR's (to name a few) are for.  I think a progress bar is a great use case of control references.

Michael.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(2,433 Views)

Hi Promice,

the easiest way to pass data in and out of a (sub)-VI is using the connector pane.

When you create a (sub)-VI, you can choose a pattern and select which control or indicator (frontpanel elements) belongs to which terminal.

The way Michael has supposed is more advanced an a very common way to change values of frontpanel elements of a main VI.

There is no wrong way, it depends on the application. So thanks to Michael.

For the first steps, I would suggest using the connector panel.

I've attached a modified example.

Kind Regards,

Philipp K.

Applications Engineer | NI Germany

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(2,392 Views)
Phillip
I assumed wrightly or wrongly in this case he needs an asynchronous update which rules out the connector pane. Asumption based on the fact it is a progress bar. Also, if the OP liked this method and knew of nothing else it could lead to future coding nightmares hence the warning. Hope we both helped him.
Michael
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(2,372 Views)
The simplest way would probably just make the front panel of the subVI visible.
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 12
(2,363 Views)