cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing to spreadsheet file in a loop?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am trying to write a series of images to a spreadsheet file. It is basically a video that has about 540 frames each frame is 1780X500 pixels. I am running a for loop that takes acquires a frame from the stack of frames and writes it to a .txt file. This operation for the given file size takes about 2 mins for the writing process. I need the raw data so i cannot save the images in any other format. I am told that 2 mins is a long time to be saving a 9 sec video. 

I attached the code. Is there anything in the code that is slowing it down or is it running at speed limit. I am new to labview and I am not sure how I can speed this up. The write header is a custom VI that just creates a 6 line header to write in the beginning for each file. Any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,509 Views)

It does tend to take some time to write the data to disk.

It looks like you crop the image after converting it to an array. The "IMAQ image to array" has an optional rectangle input you can use to do this all in one step.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,486 Views)

Calling a PNG file a "LabVIEW Snippet" doesn't make it so!  A Snippet is created from the Block Diagram by selecting code and choosing "Make Snippet from Selection" from the Edit menu.  It may look like a .PNG file, but if you drag this to a LabVIEW Block Diagram, it will "open up" into working LabVIEW code, something your PNG file doesn't do.

I don't know the format of your Image, but why not write Images using an Image format, .jpg for stills, .avi for videos?  They are "designed" for images, and will undoubtedly be faster (and smaller) than writing text.  Indeed, you should be able to write a video file of 30 Frames/second to disk as fast as you acquire it.

Bob Schor