LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing to an Excel File When DAQ setup is within a While Loop

Hello, I've been having an issue with trying to save my data to an excel file. I'm pretty new to labVIEW, so I used the DAQ Assistant to set up my data aquisition (I have been told it's not ideal, but I don't have the time to learn how to change it, nor is it a problem right now). 

I have the DAQ Assistant and all of the data within a while loop, so that the unit continuously records data until I tell it to stop, but this becomes an issue when I want to save the data to an excel file.

When I run the VI, the report generator will save the file every time the while loop runs through once. So, if I'm collecting data at 100 HZ for 10 seconds, I will get 10 excel documents each with 100 rows of data, rather than one document with 1000 rows of data.

Is there any report generation item I can use to hold onto the data and build one large table until I am ready to dump it all into one document? I've tried tinkering with several different methods of doing this, none of which are proving useful...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,991 Views)

There are a number of "signatures" that show you are very new to LabVIEW.

• Your entire program seems to consist of a single VI.
  • Almost all of the work is being conducted by Express VIs
  • There is no "design" -- everything takes place in a single loop that "runs until I say to stop", doing only one thing, repetetively.
  • You have the RGT lines running through your While loop, but nothing takes place within the While loop that involves these lines -- why not do all of the RGT/Excel work after the Loop exits?