LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing data to file on trigger activation?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to lab view and I'm finding it difficult figuring out a solution to this fairly simple problem. I've installed a level indicator on a tank and when ever it reaches the overflow limit the VI should write all data to a file. I've set up my data arrays, but I'm struggling with finding a means to have the VI write the data when the specific trigger (tank overflow) occurs. I'm sure the solution is pretty simple, but I've been struggling with this for a couple of days now so decided to ask for helps.

Cheers,

Gasim 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,606 Views)

@Gasim wrote:

Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to lab view and I'm finding it difficult figuring out a solution to this fairly simple problem. I've installed a level indicator on a tank and when ever it reaches the overflow limit the VI should write all data to a file. I've set up my data arrays, but I'm struggling with finding a means to have the VI write the data when the specific trigger (tank overflow) occurs. I'm sure the solution is pretty simple, but I've been struggling with this for a couple of days now so decided to ask for helps.

Cheers,

Gasim 

have you looked at the comparison pallette?...connect that to your write 'case statement'
, otherwise dont write to file

Message 2 of 12
(3,584 Views)

Hey there,

Thanks for the reply. I'd already setup a comparison to trigger my high alarm, but now I know I need to use a case statement for the data writing part. Thanks a lot.

🙂

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,561 Views)

Ummm it turns out it's a bit trickier than I expected. I've attached my vi in order to help explain the problem.