LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

While LoopTiming

Hi,

I'm new at LabVIEW and I'm having trouble with the timing on one of my while loops, specifically the one in the for loop.  The purpose of the while loop is to report the position of the motor as it runs throught a cyclic program.  However, when I open the data file, it's reading the initial position twice.  Is that an issue with the timing of the while loop or could it be something else?  I've uploaded my code below.  Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,990 Views)

I think you have a problem with your serial communications here.  It appears that your instrument is using the termination character.  So use that to your advantage.  When an instrument uses the termination character DO NOT use Bytes At Port.  Instead, tell the VISA Read to read more bytes than you would ever expect in a message.  The VISA Read stops reading when 1) it reads the number of bytes it was told, 2) encounters a termination character, or 3) times out, whichever happens first.

The issue with the Bytes At Port is it introduces very weird race communications.  For instance, you send the "RP" command to tell the instrument to report data.  Then you check to see how many bytes are on the port.  What tends to happen here is the bytes at port is checked before the instrument is done sending the data.  So you get no data or part of the data.  By using the termination character, this race condition is eliminated and you know you are getting the full message.

As a side note, I would put your request for data and data read into a subVI so that you can more easily reuse the code.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,934 Views)