LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which card can I use to develop SPI communication with Labview?

Solved!
Go to solution

First of all, I'm an intern currently working on a project that involves communication with an SPI interface. I have absolutely no experience with SPI but I'm definitely decided to try. I have been working with labview for about 6 months and understand basic function of many of its ressources.

The problem:

We want to communicate Labview to an Evaluation Board that is connected to the PC via USB (but it can also be adapted to connect through SPI). The evaluation board mainly reads and writes register to transcievers that are connected to this by an Evaluation Module. The program that already does that is the SmartRF Studio (which works via USB), but as we want to link all the functions to Labview we need to redevelop a platform to do it. So shortly, we want to do a SmartRF Studio version in Labview. We want to be able to get all the information the program does and such... and all this is possible through SPI.

Here is a link in case you are interested in what SmartRF Studio is: SmartRF Studio Link

My question ist which card do you recommend for what we are trying to accomplish? We are looking for something not very expensive but that will function to fulfill our requirements.

I'm thinking about the NI USB 8451, but please offer suggestions.

Thank you so much in advance and please stay tunned for my lots of coming questions regarding how to accomplish this gigantic task with no prior knowledge whatsoever of SPI or how to mix it with Labview being only a student. I'm currently reading as much as I can find, so any useful links will also be very much appreciated. If someone has experience with NI USB 8451 with Labview please be so kind as to guide me 😞 

Sincerely,

Gisela
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,925 Views)

There are also numerous third-party SPI devices:

Aardvark (got one of these)