LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vision- Changing camera settings

Hi,

I want to create a VI that allows me to change properties such as exposure and gain for my Basler camera.  I wonder:

1. Where can I access such properties?

2. Can I manage this by just Vision Acquisition or do I need Vision Development Module as well? I only found out about Vision Development Module when I couldn't use the IMAQ Histogram and Histograph functions .

I am relatively new to Labview, so please excuse the armature question.. 

/Hasti

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,457 Views)

What kind of camera and interface are you using?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,445 Views)

Basler acA2500-14um and USB 3.0 interface.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,443 Views)

It is my understanding that the Vision Development Module is to allow you to manipulate (camera) Images (save them to files, compute histograms, describe Regions of Interest, etc.) while the Vision Acquisition Software contains the Camera drivers that enable IMAQdx and IMAQ camera functions.  I always install both, so I may be a tad inaccurate, but that's my broad understanding.

To be able to acquire Images from a Basler Camera, you definitely need the Vision Acquisition Software, and you must Activate it (it has a separate license).  I've made the mistake (twice, I think) of doing a LabVIEW installation, specifying both VDM and VAS, thinking I activated everything, and then seeing I had no "Camera" functions.  It was usually as simple as opening NI License Manager, finding the Vision Licenses, clicking to activate it, and putting in my license code.