From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vision Assistant on FPGA - Error -5400 Reading Images from DMA FIFO

I suppose I should preface this question by saying, I'm a computer science summer intern who has been tasked with this project and I'm completely new to LabVIEW, so that is surely part of the problem. I've written text based code for years, so trying to switch to this has been a bit of a nightmare. For the last several days I've been trying to no avail to get a video stream up from our FPGA. We had it working before one of my mentors left, and now working alone with a slightly different example and the orginal I can't get anything up.

The goal of the project is to stream 12 bit camera link video through a PCIe-1473R-LX110 card, doing some image processing (auto-gain and image overlay), and then view the video live on the host. The Vision Assistant seems the best way to make this happen, so I started off with the "Image Processing with Vision Assistant on FPGA" example. Since our camera is 12 bit 1 tap and the example is for 8 bit 1 tap I changed that setting and modified everything to use 16 bit integers...meaning I changed the DMA FIFO to 16 bit, changed the IMAQ setting to I16 (our images are signed) and everything else I could find that needed to be expanded. Whenever I try to aquire images now, I always get the same error - "Error -5499 occurred at Invoke Mathod: FIFO.Aquire Read Region in NI_VDM_FPGA_Basics.lvlib:IMAQ FPGA Image Transfer from Target U16.vi -> 1473r Acquisition Template (Host).vi." So, basically it times out every time the Image Transfer from Target method is called from the best I can tell.