LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vibration Analysis?

Hello Everyone,

I'm building a small machine to test and qualify bearings using vibration analysis.  I'm fairly new to the vibration world, but I've read several articles and documents on the subject.  I'm writing a program to take the vibration readings (See attachment), and I have a few questions.  I've read about the sound and vibration analysis toolkit from NI, but this is not in the budget right now.  If I can prove this testing will work, then we'll have to re-evaluate the need for the add-on toolkit.

My current program seems to take readings accurately and repeatably, but the information I'm getting isn't painting a very good picture for me.  I can test a brand-new bearing and one that you can feel and hear has defects, and see what appears to be the same readings.  You can't tell the difference between good and bad bearings.  I've read about defect frequencies for bearings etc., but this doesn't seem to show anything either. 

I've seen some discussion on here about converting from g's to in/sec^2 etc. but I don't really understand this and I'm not sure of the importance of doing this conversion?

Basically, I need to know if there's anything I can do better in the analysis and manipulation of the data, without the sound and vibration toolkit, to get a better reading from the bearing.

Is the spectrum tool right for this?  How should I set it up?

Does anyone have any good links to places I can learn more about vibration analysis?

Is anyone doing this type of testing?  Do you already have code, or are you using a different tool than LABView?

Anything else?  We have a real potential for saving money here, I'm looking for any help.

Thank You,

Jeremy Backer

Jeremy Backer
CLAD
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(4,484 Views)

Jeremy,

Can you post some typical data?  Ideally one set with a new bearing and one with a bad bearing.