From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VISA and READ function - Problem linked to the bytes at port

Hello there,

I've tried to find a problem to my solution, and I've read many threads that seems to describe the same kind of problem, but so far no solution to my issue.

I am new to labview, so I'll try to make it short and clear: I am trying to communicate with a pump, and I'd like to initialyse my numerical boxes with the values that are already set on the pump (for example, when I switch on the pump, the set flow rate may be 8mL/min, and I'd like to have 8 written on my labview controller when I run it the first time).

Pretty easy eh? So, it works half of the time. I don't fully understand why, but sometimes the bytes at port is "28", and that will make my read functions to correctly read the values, and some other times the bytes at port are... whatever number BUT 28, and then I'll get errors.

I have joined my VI, the focused piece of work is under the event Timeout. I've read somewhere on an NI page that doing this piece of work under a TimeOut event is a way to initialyze a controller.

Also, as I am new to labview, and if you feel like my code need to be corrected, fell free to critizise it. I am happy to learn from you 🙂

Cheers, 

Flo

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 114
(5,948 Views)

Hi,

you should never wire bytes at port to your Visa read, because there is a chance that only half the bytes are currently at the port when the bytes at port function happens.  One thing that could fix this issue would be to wire 28 to the bytes to read on the visa read, because that works, and remove the bytes at port function.

Questions:

1. How does your device output data, do you know the protocal?