LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VI works properly every other time

Hello All,

I am fairly new to labview, but not programming. I have created a VI that controls an electronic load via inputs from a CSV file. The VI communicates with the load via a NI USB to GPIB converter. The driver for the load is from the NI find drivers page. The problem I am having is that the load follows the commands every other time the VI runs unless I close out Labview entirely and start fresh each time.  This leads me to believe that there is some buffer that is not properly cleared after the VI closes. I have attached the VI and a sample CSV file but I don't think anyone will be able to use it without the load. So I guess my question is, how can I return the VI to a virgin state at the begining of a run without having to close out labview all together? I have checked "Clear Indicators when called" but that just makes it look like it was fully reset. Also, why would it work every other time it is run without being completely closed? To be more clear on that point, I open the VI and run it. The VI completes as expected and returns to the editor. I click run again and it does not appear to communicate with the load during this run. After it exits back to the editor, I click run again and it works as expected once again. This pattern repeats indefinately.

Thanks in advance ,

Eric

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(2,892 Views)

Hi Eric,

beside learning usage of basic array functions you should NEVER use a STOP (or QUIT) function in your code.

This could be the reason for your problems: due to immediate STOP some controls (with latching behaviour) may be confused…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 17
(2,883 Views)

Some general comments.