cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VI is running very slowly

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi Everyone,

Hope you all, are having a good week.  I know it's sort of a shot in the dark to post my code and ask for help, but the truth of the matter is that I'm a novice LabViewer and as a community this forum might be able to help me out or point me in the right direction  in way less time than it would have taken me on my own.  So enough of that and down to the fun stuff:

The Goal: 1.  In a broad sense, I want to read in approximately 10-20mins of data sampled at 30 kHz in TDMS format.  There are 5 channels in total.

1A.  Filter the data with high and low pas filters from all 5 channels channels.

1B.  Take the standard deviation of the first chunk from each of the five channels of data and divide every chunk read in by this standard                                     deviation to normalize them.

1C.  Add the first three channels together to increase signal to noise & find peak locations

1D.  Use these peak locations and grab the peak amplitudes from all five channels and write them to a text file

1E.  Finally, upon having the data saved away as a text file for current and future use, plot them and analyze the peak amplitude                                                     information.

The Attempt:

As you can see I have attached two files, Calibration_Routine which calls find_peaks.  The idea is that Calibration routine, opens the TDMS file, reads in the data one chunk at a time(750,000 lines at a time before errors), passes the data on to find peaks, which as the name implies, finds the peaks, and returns them to Calibration_Routine so that they may be written to a text file.

The problem:

So far the code seems to function correctly but will get up to about 4.5 million lines read and then goes incredibly slowly but without producing any errors.

What I'm asking from you: