LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VI Works Single Step at a Time, But Not When Run Normally

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm very new to LabView and have created a simple VI to record a single measurement from my HP 34401A Multimeter over an RS 232 connection.

The problem that I'm having is that the VI only works when I run it a single step at a time (clicking the single step button until it's completed).  When I try to run the entire thing though, I get the following error:

Error -1073807339 occurred at VISA Read in Untitled 2

Possible reason(s):

VISA:  (Hex 0xBFFF0015) Timeout expired before operation completed.

After reading through the help page for that error, I tried adding a time delay, but that did not fix the problem.

(http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/874B379E24C0A0D686256FCF007A6EA0)

NI I/O Trace didn't provide any answers for me, but I've attached a shot.  Lines 1-13 are from the single step run, the rest are from attempting to run the entire thing at once.

Can anyone please help me understand what's going on here?  Thanks in advance!

If anyone is interested:

Windows 7

LabVIEW 2009

HP 34401A Multimeter

RS 232 connection is through a USB-Serial adapter

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,498 Views)

Please remove the flat sequence. Put a while loop around visa read

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,490 Views)
Are you sure that you will get 200 bytes of data? Why don't you try using the "bytes at the port" property to find out how many bytes available to read.
-----

The best solution is the one you find it by yourself
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,489 Views)

The termination character is turned on, as it should be.  That instrument puts out a termination character at the end of its data.  So you don't need the Bytes At Port in this code.

Put in a Simple Error Handler at the end of your sequence.  When the VISA Read has an error, it should tell us what the error is.

GCentral