LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using a proximity sensor, for distance tracking system in unison with led's

Hi Everyone!

I am only very new to the labview environment so I dont have very strong coding knowledge. I basically want to use a proximity sensor which will send out soundwaves at a particular distance interval. Basically if a certain distance (X1) is reached a green led will flash and will cause a buzzer to activate. Subsequently if a certian distance (X2) is reached, two led pins will be activated (ie: green red) and a higher frequency produced,3 led's (green red blue) for distance X3 4 led/s (green,red, blue, yellow) for X4. The proximity sensor that I will be using is a hcrs04 ping sensor with 4 pins (Vref, Ground, Trigger and Echo). Any help or contribution would be greatly appreciated!    

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,723 Views)

Hi Dan,

I will try my best to help out here however I could use a few more details to do that. Can you tell me more about the physical system? i.e. Where are you generating the frequescies and using what?, Are the LED's on a specific device, how are you communicating with them? 

Any other information would be appreciated. Have you tried implementing any code up to now?

Regards,

Gavin

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,672 Views)

I use those with my Raspberry Pis.  They're very easy to work with and there's info all over the web about how to set them up.  All you will need is a digital out to trigger it and then a digital in that can measure the pulse width returned.   A little simple math and you have your distance.  What hardware are you usingto interface it?

BTW, this sounds like a homework problem so don't expect anyone to code it for you.  Smiley Wink  But we'll be happy to help you work through it. 

LabVIEW Pro Dev & Measurement Studio Pro (VS Pro) 2019 - Unfortunately now moving back to C#, .NET, Python due to forced change to subscription model by NI. 8^{
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8