From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using a Multicolumn Listbox To Retrieve Selection Items

Hello, I want to use a Multicolumn Listbox as a control.  This control will popup to a user and the user can select as many items (rows) as they would like.  When they are done with selecting which items (rows) they would like to select they hit the Done key to end the selection process.  Programatically, I then would like to create an array for all of the items (rows) selected.  I have two headers: Test Code and Test Name.  I would like to programatically create an array with the Test Codes and the Corresponding Test Names.

I think I can do this with property nodes but I am a bit new to using Listboxes.  What is the best way to do this?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(8,078 Views)

A multicolumn listbox allows you to select 0 or more items by right-clicking on the control...Selection Mode....0 or more (or 1 or more depending on your requirements).  You'll want to setup an event to fire when the value of the control changes.  The new value will be an array of indexes that were selected by the user. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(8,068 Views)

Thanks Aputman...If I have two columns of data for each row, is there a way to return that information based on only the selected items?

For example - My two column headers are:

Test Code and Test Name

Is there a way to return the Test Code and Test Names based on the selected rows?

My list box looks like the following:

Listbox.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(8,062 Views)

Hello hobby1,