LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using LabVIEW to write a VeriStand Custom Device

Hi everyone,

I have been put in charge of creating a VeriStand custom device and I have never done it before.  I also haven't used VeriStand before so any insight could be helpful.  A short summary of the project is as follows:

I havea real-time system running test simulations and I want to use a DAQ external to the real-time system to gather data at a faster rate then the overall simulation runs at.  I don't have to worry about sending the data I gather back to the test running in VeriStand; I simply need to log it.  That being said, my custom device needs to allow the user to set which channel to use and whether or not to use a software or physical trigger to start/stop the data gathering when the simluation starts/stops.

I have been reading up on and playing around with custom devices as much as I could the last few days and here is about where I am at:

I know there is a custom device template tool to generate a custom device LabVIEW project.  Based on the requirements of my custom device I have decided that it should be have an asynchronous execution type and the start/stop triggers can be sent across the Device Inputs/Outputs FIFO.  I also have [independently] built a VI that can sample signals using a soft button start/stop in conjuction with a SignalExpress express VI.  This is what I plant to use for the software trigger acquisition.  I plan to use the DAQmx trigger properties (start.trigtype, start.trigsrc, ref.trigtype, etc.) for physical triggers.  Right now I'd like to concentrate on the software triggers and implement the hardware triggers later on. I feel that this would help simplify my task.

The hardware my custom device is using is a NI cDAQ-9178 chassis with an NI-9227 analog current input device.  The software I have access to is LabVIEW 2011 SP1, VeriStand 2011, SignalExpress 2011, FPGA Module, RT Module.