LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using LabVIEW to simulatenously control 256 Outputs on FPGA

Hello,

I am a first year graduate student classically thrown into learning LabVIEW, so I would much appreciate some help with the code I am trying to work out. To give you an idea I started watching the tutorials on creating loops in February. For reference I am on LabVIEW 2014 and using a CRio-9066 with 8 modules and 256 total digital outputs.

The goal of the code is to 1) generate on/off times for the state of the outputs on the FPGA VI and 2) to communicate this with the FPGA VI in real time. The reason the code is on a computer VI and not contained on the FPGA is because I need to use a normal distrbution function (which has inputs mean and standard deviation and outputs a value accordingly) to determine the timing. This is easily achieved on the computer, but not so easily achieved on the FPGA interface. It is essential that each output follows it's own unique timing function for my purposes.

The way the code works is that each output has it's own while loop containing a two-frame timed loop (see attached.) A sub-VI I made (with a sun icon, see attached) outputs a timing value each time it is called, and this value delays the next iteration and during this delay sets the value of the local variable as true or false (on or off.) The state of the local variable is continuously communicated with the FPGA VI using a read/write control elsewhere in the program. The FPGA VI itself is a very simple VI which has boolean switches attached to each desired output.