LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using GPIB interface with Keithley 2001 DMM. Need assistance in acquiring data from simple PV/battery circuit configuration.

I am currently running an experiment where I am trying to record data for voltage and current across a Li-ion battery connected in series with a PV panel and rectifier diode. I am trying to interface the Keithley 2001 DMM using GPIB-USB. All I want is to record data for voltage and current for x ammount of time. I have never used GPIB or LabVIEW before so I don't even know if I am going down the right path. I would really appreciate any help or guidance. Thanks. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,911 Views)

Well first do go through the getting started exercizes that ship with LabVIEW.  

NEXT read the instructions that come from Keithley with your device.  PAY ATTENTION to Keithley's notes on interfacing with National Instruments software that are in that getting started guide.

Then check out the Instrument Driver Network  Its a good bet someone has used LabVIEW to work with that device over GPIB before youSmiley Wink  There might even be examples!

You are going down the right path!Smiley Very Happy

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,872 Views)

here is a link to the manual, http://www.mhzelectronics.com/ebay/manuals/keithley_2001_multimeter_manual.pdf  read chapter 4 for the commands you can send and what they do.

There are 2 options on how to proceed.

1. Use a for loop in labview to control the number of readings and use :READ? to perform a single measurement in each iteration of the for loop (export data using an auto-index output terminal to get an array).