cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use boolean value to switch between several numerical values

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone.

I’m new to Labview, so I’m sorry if this is very elementary or if I have overlooked an earlier question and solution regarding the same.

I would like to use a Boolean value to switch between different numerical values. The Boolean value switch each 60 second, and I would like to pass through the following numerical values in the order they are written: 300, 800, 1500, 300, 1500. The program shall then start again from the beginning of this cycle and continue running through this cycle.

I have considered case structures, stacked sequence and so on, but can’t find a solution that can handle more than two states and will continue to run through this cycle infinitely. Perhaps some kind of state machine, but I have no experience with this…?

Hope that one of you experts can help me. Thanks in advance. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,649 Views)

When the boolean is true, increment a number that is passed around a shift register. Use this value as an index to index the array containing your values 300, 800, 1500, 300, 1500. If the index becomes bigger than the array size, et it back to zero.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,644 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ChrisDK

Hi Chris

I've attached a file for you

One loop does what you are asking, switch between the numbers when a boolean changes

Second loop does the same as the first loop but much simpler using the wait functions instead of the watch.

Best Regards

Anders

Message 3 of 7
(2,600 Views)

@ToeCutter wrote:

When the boolean is true, increment a number that is passed around a shift register. Use this value as an index to index the array containing your values 300, 800, 1500, 300, 1500. If the index becomes bigger than the array size, et it back to zero.