LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use absolute encoder to get positioning

Hi all friends, 

i am relatively new in labview, and sorry in advance if i ask something very silly. 

i am writing this to seek help for absolute encoder data acquisition. 

The DAQ set i am using is NI USB-6218 BNC which has 8 digital inputs. 

The absolute am using is ACE 128, data sheet is http://www.bourns.com/pdfs/ace.pdf

I am connecting the 8 output pins of the encoder to the 8 digital input pin P0.0-0.8 

and then i am using  DAQ Assitant 8 times he input and then convert it to decimal numbers and save it to a text file. 

attached is what i have. 

it seems that it works well, but however when i look through the text file, i found that there are a lot of errors in the decimal numbers. 

can anybody help me to figure out why it happens??

Thank you very much 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,380 Views)

The problem I see is that you are essentially sampling each channel at different times. Differential encoders work by sampling ALL of the channels at the SAME time.

What you you are doing now is sampling each channel one after the next. If your encoder position changes at all in the middle of that sampling stream, you will get errors.

Try changing your code so that you are sampling the entire port at once instead of individual channels. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(3,356 Views)

Hi BFeigum, 

Thank you very much for your reply. 

So you mean that the DAQ assistant works in such a way that it reads value one after another? Therefore the reading of the 8 digital input is not done at the same time. 

can this problem be solved by using one DAQ assistant instead of 8? But if that, how can i split the readings and convert to the decimal numbers?

Thanks in advance and hope to hear from you! 

Best regards, 

Melvin 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(3,336 Views)

Boolean Array to Number in the Boolean palette.