From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding labview fpga using sbRIO

Hi,

I'm a newbie to labview fpga and sbRIO. I am trying to acquire analog data by varying a potentiometer. I have done this using NI USB 6008, but how do you acquire using sbRIO? What code do I need to write in the fpga target and RT target? Is the actual code (code used while using NI 6008) written on the RT target?

Should I just add the analog input nodes on the fpga target?

Help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(4,038 Views)

Hi kdm,

when you get access to a new device you should read its manual at first. After done so you need to make sure you installed all the needed dirvers for your hardware. Then you start by studying the examples coming with the hardware drivers for your device.

Did you do all those steps?

Did you understand all the examples provided by NI for your sbRIO?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(4,024 Views)

I'll throw in two links:

http://www.ni.com/singleboard/setup/

This should be the starting point for anybody new to an sbRIO.

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/11199/en/

Even more specifically, this paper covers both Scan Interface (*spits*) and FPGA programming, and is well worth a read if you're truly a fish out of water.

---
CLA
Message 3 of 19
(4,010 Views)

Hi GerdW,

I am using sbRIO 9641. Yes, I read the manual and I have installed all the needed drivers.

Can you please send me the links to example codes for sbRIO?

I found this http://www.ni.com/example/31180/en/ , but before going through this, I would like to study a simpler example.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 19
(4,006 Views)

Hi kdm,