cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to read quadrature encoder with NI 9411 in NI Max

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

This is my first post here as I am new to Labview. I am trying to create an application that reads in applied torque vs angular displacement. I have a socket wrench torque transducer wired to an NI 9237 module for load/torque and the other wires go to an NI 9411 module for the quadrature encoder readings. These modules are connected to cDAQ-9174.I am able to see torque fine in MAX but I am getting nothing from the encoder. I have 5 wires going to the 9411

Yellow - Encoder GND wired to pin 12

Green- +5V wired to pin 4

Blue-CW Lead (Assuming A signal) to pin 1

Violet-CW Trail (Assuming B signal) to pin 3

White-ID Data (Assuming Z signal) to pin 2

I believe these are the correct pin connections as I have looked up many tips and exampless online and nothing has worked. I create a task in NI Max >> Counter Input >> Position >> Angular and when I test the signal, nothing at all happens. The acquisition mode is 1 sample... Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,258 Views)

My first question would be what is the specification for the encoder?  Will a 5V input be sufficient to drive it?  Some encoders require 9-24Vdc as the input.  How many pulses per revolution?  That will determine the maximum rotation allowed by the 9411 rather than just spinning it.  Remember that there are four edges for each pulse specified (A^, B^, Av, Bv).  Once the correct voltage input is supplied, use a DMM to determine if the encoder output voltages (A, B, & Z) are changing when the shaft is rotated some.

Help the Community (and future reviewers) by marking posts as follows:
If it helped - KUDOS
If it answers the issue - SOLUTION
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,212 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jlduchar

@jlduchar wrote:

Hello all,