LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB communication with LabVIEW

Colleagues,

I wasn't sure which board is the correct address for my post. I have a custom (home) made PIC based piece of hardware doing DAQ that needs to be contrled via USB. I have no experience with programming USB at all so I don't know where to begin learining from. I guess the first step is to identify the particular USB port, than to open session, write/read byte streams and close it - but don't know how to do this in LabVIEW.

I have search the Developer Zone but the articles I found are advanced for me and I cannot follow. Can somebody  help me with this? The PIC will do DAQ constantly and time-stamp it. My LV app needs to read from it a string of sampled values per channels. Upon certain circumstances I need to send to the PIC cmd for him to do DIO action via relays. So there is no formal serial protocol implemented, and unlike the COMs I don't know how to identify the USB part the PIC is connected to.

Thanks in advance,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,315 Views)

Hi golubovski,

Thanks for the post! 

Well the resource I always use for guidence is:

USB Instrument Control Tutorial

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/4478

As long as your using NI-VISA 3+ you can just use the VISA vi's in LabVIEW - just as you would for serial comms. There is an example in the tutorial but also in LabVIEW example finder. (Help>>Find Examples..). These VISA commands are Low level and would let you control what you send/read and when i.e. your own protocol. 

I hope this helps and please ask more questions, if have them!

Kind Regards, 

Kind Regards
James Hillman
Applications Engineer 2008 to 2009 National Instruments UK & Ireland
Loughborough University UK - 2006 to 2011
Remember Kudos those who help! 😉
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,295 Views)

Hillman,