cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble writing to CAN

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am working with a prototype vehicle and I need to write to the CAN network if possible.  I am using an NI USB-8473 CAN interface, which I believe only supports NI-CAN, so I am attempting to work with those blocks.  The attached code is based off of a few different examples I have seen online, but I am by no means an expert.

I am able to read other channels from the CAN network very consistently (if I change the desired ID for the ncReadNet VI), but when I try to read the channel on which the ncWriteNet VI should be transmitting, I see all zeros.

I have tried several different combinations of options for the NI-CAN blocks, but nothing seems to work.  Any advice you all might be able to give would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Addison A.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,038 Views)

I'm no expert at CAN communications (except I know it is probably not two cans and a string), but I do know that NI has about 40 million CAN examples.  Just look under Help --> Find Examples... and then search for CAN.  Hopefully this will help you to get started.  🙂

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,999 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Kanogul

Correct me if I'm wrong, but you want to read the CAN message that you send out, with the same hardware? 

For a general configuration of the hardware, that is not possible. 

On hardware level, the CAN transceiver has two queues, one for read and one for write. 

When the transceiver is writing on the CAN bus, it is not receiving anything, and therefor not storing the send message in the read queue.