From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Hann window function in LabVIEW is different from what Wikipedia and Matlab tells. What is the reason for this difference?

I am new to signal processing as well as LabVIEW. The Hann window function used in LabVIEW is different from what Wikipedia and Matlab says.A factor N is used in the cosine function in the window function while Wikipedia uses (N-1) where N is the length of the signal or window length. This difference is observed in other cosine window functions  I want to understand what is the reason for this difference? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,107 Views)

I think the "difference" is largely how the functions are used and described.  Do you know why you have (and may need to use) a Windowing function?  When one does an FFT on a finite sample of data (most of us are too impatient to wait for the infinite data set), the assumption is that we are taking N points from a periodic waveform having period N.  Well, this is rarely true -- point N+1 (the next point, if we had sampled it) rarely "resembles" the first point we acquired.  One way to deal with this is to force the sample to be "similar" at the ends by Windowing it.  Since the point of the exercise is to make the first (index 0) and the N+1 (index N) point identical, we use a window of length N (as LabVIEW says), with indices that go from 0 to N-1.