LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temperature reading from OMEGA data logger thermometer (model HH309)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to LabView but I need some help.  I have a Data Logger Thermometer model that looks identical to the one in this manual: http://www.omega.com/manuals/manualpdf/M4147.pdf (OMEGA model # HH309).

I connect the thermometer to a PC via a RS232-to-USB (Keyspan adapter) connection.  The software that comes with the device (SE309 - Four Channel Thermometer Software v 3.6) detects and monitors the temperature through the COM3 port with no problems.

However, I need to interface this device with LabView 2011 and I am having difficulties getting it to communicate successfully.  I use the example VI called "Basic Serial Write and Read.vi" to open a VISA session.  I use the default communication parameters (baud rate, data bits, etc...) but change the VISA resource name to COM3. After figuring out a few RS-232 transmit and receive commands I am able get some strange responses.  

For example, if I send "C", the thermometer temperature reading changes from Celsius to Fahrenheit and vice-versa.  When I send "E" the thermometer beeps.  If I send "P" the screen of the thermometer shows "SEend" followed by "Err".  Then the "read string" in LabView shows strange ASCII characters like: ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ .

I would like to know the following:

(1) What communication parameters should I be using (baud rate, data bits, parity, stop bits, flow control, delay, etc...). 

(2) What else can I try to get the temperature reading in LabView? 

(3) How can I interpret the ASCII characters I receive from the "read string" such as: Ȁ ? (see screen shot attached)

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(12,614 Views)
That manual does not help at all. Unless someone who has experience with it and posts here, you may have to resort to using a sniffer program such as portmon.