cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Teaching LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

Gurus of LabVIEW,

I am a newly minted professor and as part of an electronics class I am teaching LabVIEW. Teaching coding, whether it is LabVIEW or traditional written coding is generally difficult (at least that has been my experience as a student) due to the fact that students perform at different speeds/different levels of understanding. 

Is there any built in LabVIEW function (not examples, I've already shown them that) that would allow for students to better follow my teaching in class? I often get complaints on both sides saying that I am both going too fast and going too slow, so ideally I'd like to have some way of having my live coding able to be delayed by some amount on a separate screen while still showing the up to date coding at the same time. (That way if students fall behind briefly they can look at a separate screen and catch up to the point where I stop in order to let other students catch up. Think of it like TiVO but for LabVIEW, etc.) Does any teaching tool like that exist for LabVIEW? If not, could you make this happen, NI? Haha...

Also, is there any free online based LabVIEW coding place where my students could practice coding if their install file corrupts their computer or another catastrophic issue happens? Octave online for matlab and circuits.io for arduino have been great, I feel like NI needs something like this as well at least for basic LabVIEW.

Other experiences/teaching ideas are welcome as well if you know of something that worked particularly well.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,743 Views)
Solution
Accepted by bravedonxiote