From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tank fill and hold

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi

I am very new to labVIEW. I have an assignment to simulate a pump and a tank. I have to fill the tank at the rate the pump operates at. The pump ranges between 40 and 180 gpm. So if the pump is operating at 120 gpm i want the tank to fill at a rate of 2 gallons per second ant the tank to hold it.. im struggling to get my head around the holding whats in the tank

Gar

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,185 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author garco

Gar,

How would you do it if you were tracking the data with pencil and paper? You would write down the amount of water in the tank at the end of each second and add to it the amount pumped in during each second.

To do this in LabVIEW you need a loop to repeat the process. You need a time delay to represent each second.  You can use 1 second delays or a shorter delay to make it run faster than the actual time. You need a shift register to hold the accumulated amount of water. An ADD function. A control to represent the pump rate. An indicator to show how much water is in the tank.  LabVIEW has a nice tank indicator.

Try it. If you do not understand something, post waht you have tried along with an explanation about what is not working as you expect.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,178 Views)

Thanks for your reply

Im confused where to add the time delay. I have the numeric control(my pump) connected to an add function and the shift register, from the shift register element to the other input on the add function and then from the add to the tank. I have a constant to drive the loop

thanks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,171 Views)