From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Take pictures with USB webcam and move stepper motor

Hi,  this is my first post on the forums and I have very little LabVIEW experience. 

I am simply trying to use LabVIEW to take pictures through a USB camera (DirectShow compatible)(AmScope MU300)  without the expensive Vision software.  I have attempted using the old NI IMAQ for USB driver from here: https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-3929. however the webcam did not apper in NI MAX, and the example program couldn't be launched.  

In addition to taking pictures, I am also interested in moving a stepper motor (about 5 mm) . I have absolutely no other hardware, other than my laptop and the stepper motor.  Can you please advise me on the cheapest way to make this work?  

Sorry that these may be very noob questions, but I have had very little experience using and implementing labVIEW on my own

Thank you so much in advance,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,063 Views)

Here is a link to a 2012 post where they access the USB webcam without the vision software, based on Windows DLL function calls.  

http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/2-hours-finished-the-webcam-program/td-p/782481/highlight/true/page/...

I have used the example on page 5 of the thread and it works fairly well.  You may have to do some additional work to get the image into a format you can save to a file but this will currently display the webcam on the front panel.

Stepper motors are another thing all together.  A set of precise pulses will advance the motor forward or back 1 "step".  How far this is depends entirely on your particular motor.  So you will need to loop a large number of steps to get say "5mm" of travel.