LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tab control with state machines

Hi,

I am new to Labview and will be using it to make automated test equipment.

I have made some good progress so far, and made a few fixtures which work well, using the USB6008 interface.

I am creating the test software using a simple state machine. However, i would now like the create a front panel where the user can chose which product they would like to test via tab control, and this then selects the correct state machine to use on the VI. I have tried a few options, with the nearest to a working solution being the tab control altering a case structure, with the correct state machine in each case. But this only works once, the program must the sotpped and restared to select a new product to test.

I would be grateful for any advice, and hope this makes sense!

Thanks,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,029 Views)

You face a situation most developers run into when starting to implement test applications. And honestly, it is a pitty that they/you do.

before giving recommendations on a solution, i want to urge you to talk to your manager. Test applications, esp. if it comes to parallel test, require sophisticated software development. That means that it takes a lot of resources like time, developers (accordingly software development licenses) and others.

Most managers expect the software of a test system to be simple and be developed within days. That is most often not the case. Development can easily take more like months (or even years) and most test applications are NOT simple. They are complex (esp. parallel testing).

The first step to develop a test system from scratch is to split test instruction and test sequencer.

Currently, you mix both and that is why you have such a hard time to develop good code.