From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Subtracting two waveforms, one aquired using DAQ analog voltage input, and the other one being internally generated

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello NI Community,

I am new to LabView and was hoping someone might be able to help with a question I have. Right now, I am using a DAQ unit to sample an externally generated sinusoid and I would like to alter that signal by adding to it another signal that I could control using the front panel. Whenever I try to just connect the input with something like the sine waveform vi and put a subtraction sign between them it doesn't work (I get an empty waveform graph). To get around this, I have resorted to sending out a signal (through an analog output) and then reading the signal on the Daq, and then finally I add the two together. Doing it that way works, but it wastes two channels and I imagine there is a better way. I have attached my VI, and I labelled the location of interest  "Where the Signals Get Subtracted", which is currently shown using the two inputs.

Thanks,

Leo

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,991 Views)

Make two generators, with one phase=30, use the IN PLACE ELEMENT structure with the subtract inside.  Add In Place In/Out Element for channel 1.  Just tunnel channel 2 into the structure.  Subtract the two and wire the waveform out from the structure to a waveform graph.  If you want to see the original signals and the subracted version use a build array to put all three into the waveform graph. 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,958 Views)

Dear Regulator,