From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SubVI Issues

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm extremely new to LabView, and I'm trying to string together several VI's that better programmers than me have written. I'm having trouble however getting some of them to work as SubVI's in my program, so I feel like I'm missing something. 

The attached "Main Controller.vi" just translates a cryostat vertically, so I've attached "SubVI.vi" to indicate the kind of things I want to try and do with it:

(1) I feed values into "Absolute Position" and "Relative Position",

(2) Wait for the "Master Ready Indicator" to turn green, and then

(3) Hit the "Home to Bottom Limit Switch" button.

Obvioulsy, I need to translate the cryostat several times later in my program, but even this initial translation isn't working. Where am I going wrong?

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,140 Views)

I would recommend making the code in each of the event cases a subVI.  You can then directly call those VIs and sequence however you need.

It is generally not a good idea to have event structures in subVIs unless you are showing the front panel.  Otherwise you have no control and the VI will just freeze waiting for an event that will never happen.

Also, do not put outputs on the left side of the connector pane.  Inputs should be on the left, outputs on the right.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,117 Views)