From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strange Behavior of Data and Other Refinements

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I've made a .vi which records three analog voltages (one from a microphone, one across the sound source, and one across a 1 Ohm resistor for the purpose of power measurements), and have three problems. This is my first time here, so bear with me please.

1. The plot of the microphone voltage (supplied to the device, NI USB-6259, by way of Phantom Power and an XLR to BNC adapter) shows a sort of "charging up" that I don't think should be there. Furthermore, the other two plots of voltage vs. sample do not show any such trend. For reference, I am outputting the voltage, and the device is therefore making sound, before I even begin recording. Therefore, the microphone voltage plot should be semi-constant over its sample range as the input signal is just a tone at 1kHz.

2. The saving of the data to a .lvm file takes around three times as long as recording. This isn't as crucial, but it would be nice to reduce the time if possible.

3. I need to ensure that all samples from the three input channels are synchronized in time, as they will be used to create a transfer function. I've read that this device uses multiplexing; is there any way to make the time between reading a sample on one channel and then the next less (or 0)? Also, how do I set the scan list?

I've attached the .vi, an image of the block diagram, and an image of the three voltage plots, and have zoomed in on the voltage plots of the device and the resistor to show the regularity. Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,578 Views)