cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing Data from Serial Connection

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello All,

I am fairly new to LabView, I am trying to store and anaylze values from a non-Labview hardware via an rs-232 connection.

I have two devices on COM1 and COM2 ports. COM2 sends a value which I would like to store in an array. COM 2 points will form a somewhat sine wave within a few seconds. I would like to compare these values live to generate: max and min peak values, peak to peak values, and mean (I know LabView has signal icons for this, I'm just not sure how to wire it up).

I have attached the vi.

Thank you for your time and help.

Kelvin R.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,549 Views)

Sounds like you need to put your read into a loop.  That way you continuously read.

What is the format that comes back?  Does the box you are reading from use the termination character?

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,496 Views)

I am continuosly reading. I wrote to the meter a code function (the meter hast its own code for different functions) that displays the current reading (updated every ~<10ms). The problem I'm having is not being able to store these strings values (which I convert to numbers) to give me a peak to peak reading, or max and min values. I am using "array max and min" but it's always displaying the current reading on both boxes.

I believe I need to use a for loop along with shift registers, but I just don't know how to.

To answer your questions: 1) these string values are convert to integers, 2) no, termination character is not used.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,491 Views)